The beginning

The story begins in 1990 when three friends: Rik Schreurs, Theo Pasque and Guido Geunis decide to give shape to their passion for wine making. They start by planting some vines in their backyards. Guido Geunis, one of the founding friends, played an important role in the direction of their passion. With roots in the Champagne region, Guido spent a considerable amount of time as a child, with friends and family, in France. Every year he returned and met a number of Champagne farmers such as Petit Pol and Alain Guillame. The microbe of the sparkling wine germinates in this phase. When asked if he could get a number of vines with him to Belgium, he got the answer: "You can try, but you will never succeed ..." After several years of experimenting, the possibility arose to Hoogveld in Jesseren. The three friends did not hesitate for a moment and realized their first joint vineyard of about half a hectare.

17850594991650320.jpg

Passion for the product

The wines and sparkling wines that were made in the early years were mainly drunk themselves, and were found to be very good. On weekends, the production was made in the three friends' domestic cellars, the men being passionate about their hobby. Because the wines were mainly for personal use, it was decided early on not to add additives (especially chemicals) to their wines, nor to spray insecticides or herbicides in the vineyard, because after all, they drank the wine themselves. It can be said that they were already doing 'organic viticulture' at that time, without realizing it themselves or using it as a commercial asset.

18088739176096905.jpg

Professionalization

Every year the quality of their products improved and that did not go unnoticed. Several sommeliers were asked to sell a number of bottles. So the ball started rolling and soon the bottles were on the wine list in a number of top restaurants in Belgium under the name Champinnot , including; Hof van Cleve, de Karmeliet and Jardin Tropical.

The demand for and passion in making their wines kept growing. Because of this, the three friends decided to expand their vineyard. In 2009 they decide to set up a bvba. Since the domestic cellars became too small to manufacture their products, they decided to move their production to a farm in Jesseren.

In the summer of 2008, a heavy hailstorm damaged most of the vineyard. The harvests of 2008 and 2009 amounted to less than 1/3 of the normal yield.

In order not to sit still, they started again with the vinification of standard apples, a forgotten regional product. Dozens of different 'forgotten' apple varieties were supplied by Natuurpunt vzw, which manages the standard tree orchards. Fermenting the apple wine in the same way as sparkling wine produces a very fresh sparkling aperitif. Better known today as 'Apples and Pearls'.

DSC04597.JPG

Future

In the following years the vineyard expanded little by little and the name changed under pressure from the CIVC from Champinnot to Optimbulles. In 2011 an investment was made to have the entire production process in our own hands.

Since 2010 I, Maxim son of Guido Geunis, have also been involved in the story. From birth I was immersed in the wine world and my passion for wine making has started flaring up since I was 15 years old. In the meantime, I am very intensively involved in the story and I was recently appointed as co-manager.

Foto Maxim Geunis klein.jpg

Le début

L'histoire commence en 1990 lorsque trois amis: Rik Schreurs, Theo Pasque et Guido Geunis décident de donner forme à leur passion pour le vin. Ils commencent par planter des vignes dans leur arrière-cour. Guido Geunis, l'un des amis fondateurs, a joué un rôle important dans le sens de leur passion. Originaire de la Champagne, Guido a passé beaucoup de temps enfant, entre amis et en famille, en France. Chaque année, il revient et rencontre de nombreux producteurs champenois tels que Petit Pol et Alain Guillame. Le microbe du vin mousseux germe dans cette phase. Lorsqu'on lui a demandé s'il pouvait emmener un certain nombre de vignes avec lui en Belgique, il a obtenu la réponse: "Vous pouvez essayer, mais vous ne réussirez jamais ..." Après plusieurs années d'expérimentation, la possibilité s'est présentée à Hoogveld à Jesseren. Les trois amis n'ont pas hésité un instant et ont réalisé leur premier vignoble commun d'environ un demi-hectare.

17850594991650320.jpg

Passion pour le produit

Les vins et vins mousseux élaborés dans les premières années étaient principalement bu eux-mêmes et se sont avérés très bons. Le week-end, la production se faisait dans les caves domestiques des trois amis, les hommes passionnément engagés dans leur hobby. Parce que les vins étaient principalement à usage personnel, il a été décidé très tôt de ne pas ajouter d'additifs (en particulier de produits chimiques) à leurs vins, ni de pulvériser des insecticides ou des herbicides dans le vignoble, car après tout, ils buvaient le vin eux-mêmes. On peut dire qu'ils pratiquaient déjà la «viticulture biologique» à cette époque, sans s'en rendre compte eux-mêmes ni l'utiliser comme un actif commercial.

18088739176096905.jpg

Professionnalisation

Chaque année, la qualité de leurs produits s'améliorait et cela ne passait pas inaperçu. Plusieurs sommeliers ont été invités à vendre un certain nombre de bouteilles. Alors le bal a commencé à rouler et bientôt les bouteilles ont été sur la carte des vins dans un certain nombre de grands restaurants en Belgique sous le nom de Champinnot , y compris; Hof van Cleve, de Karmeliet et Jardin Tropical.

La demande et la passion pour l'élaboration de leurs vins n'ont cessé de croître. Pour cette raison, les trois amis ont décidé d'agrandir leur vignoble. En 2009, ils décident de créer une bvba. Les caves domestiques devenant trop petites pour fabriquer leurs produits, ils ont décidé de transférer leur production dans une ferme à Jesseren.

À l'été 2008, une forte tempête de grêle a endommagé la majeure partie du vignoble. Les récoltes de 2008 et 2009 ont représenté moins de 1/3 du rendement normal.

Pour ne pas rester immobile, la vinification des pommes standards, produit régional oublié, a recommencé. Des dizaines de variétés différentes de pommes «oubliées» ont été fournies par Natuurpunt vzw, qui gère les vergers d'arbres standard. La fermentation du vin de pomme de la même manière que le vin mousseux produit un apéritif pétillant très frais. Mieux connu aujourd'hui sous le nom de «pommes et perles».

DSC04597.JPG

Futur

Les années suivantes, le vignoble s'agrandit peu à peu et le nom change sous la pression du CIVC de Champinnot à Optimbulles. En 2011, un investissement a été fait pour avoir tout le processus de production entre nos mains.

Depuis 2010, moi, Maxim fils de Guido Geunis, je suis également impliqué dans l'histoire. Dès ma naissance, j'ai été immergé dans le monde du vin et ma passion pour la vinification a commencé à éclater depuis l'âge de 15 ans. En attendant, je suis très impliqué dans l'histoire et j'ai récemment été nommé co-gérant.

Foto Maxim Geunis klein.jpg